Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
An Old American West Story
Hello, this is my first time posting here. This is something I wrote a while back. I appreciate everyone who has taken the time to write & post here. I decided to stop being a "lurker" and contribute, hopefully you like it.......

It was unusual for it to rain in Arizona in the summer at least this heavily. But as so often happens rain accompanied a funeral.

Jeb Adams was a founder of the territory and most of the surrounding county residents turned out to pay their last respects to him. Standing solemnly as the preacher read from the Bible were Jeb’s two sons; 16-year-old Buck and 20-year-old Wayne. They now had the control over the vast ranch that Jeb had built from the ground up.

The rain didn’t last long though but it did make the dirt easier to shovel and the two Adam’s boys remained and watched as their father’s coffin was covered by the red earth. They accepted well wishes from all present. Jeb was a wealthy man but had given back to the community a great deal and he was going to be missed by many.

But even as this era closed the towns’ people looked to the two Adam’s boys with hope that they would carry on where their father had left off.

When the grim task of filling the grave was complete all that remained in the graveyard were Wayne and Buck. They looked at the inscription of the tombstone:

Jeb Adams
Beloved Husband and Father
A Friend to Arizona
1829 – 1880

Wayne placed an arm around the smaller body of his little brother and hugged him. It was going to be difficult to go on but they had loyal ranch hands and money in the bank. They would make it.

But gaining as much power and wealth as Jed Adams had did not come without making a few enemies along the way.